Home > life, training > Painting = cross training

Painting = cross training

Earlier this summer I let a couple days of painting get in the way of running … and then at the end of the week I tripped at the top of my steps. Well, this week I got the paint brushes out again, but I didn’t let it get in the way of running.

As I’ve mentioned before, my wife and I are expecting a boy in November. With a new job beginning next week, this week is THE week to get stuff done around the house that I’ve been putting off. The biggest thing is the baby’s room, and I really didn’t want to save it for a rainy weekend in September or October. Besides, it looks like it’ll never rain in Richmond again.

So yesterday I busted out the paint, the brushes, the ladder and everything else you need to paint and got it all done … IN ONE DAY! It started early — probably around 10 a.m. — and didn’t end until about 6 p.m. I basically only took two or three short breaks. Thanks to some fast-drying paint (and three fans), I got two coats of two different colors on, plus the ceiling. Today my wife and I finished the job with the border.

What does all this have to do with running? Well, nothing, because I haven’t missed any runs, although today was probably a bit short because I was tired. Yesterday would have been a bike ride, but I got in a good enough workout with painting, kneeling and climbing up and down the ladder. Actually, I still got in a walk and short jog with my talk before all that fun even started.

If all goes as planned, I’ll actually be getting my long run in tomorrow. It’s a little closer than usual to my previous long run, but it also gives me a longer distance between this week’s long run and the Aug. 31 Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon. This weekend is shaping up to be busy for me, and a double-digit run doesn’t fit well with my plans.

Workouts since last post
Aug. 20: Walk – 1.1; Run – 0.7; Painting
Aug. 21: Walk – 1; Run – 4.1

Tags: ,
  1. D10
    August 22, 2008 at 12:58 am

    This room shouts baby boy. It is perfect! Good luck with the new job. I can’t believe RNR is so close.

  2. mangotriathlete
    August 22, 2008 at 9:38 am

    The room is so cute, perfect for a little boy. 1 day of getting it done? Wow. Power-painting 🙂 Your running plan sounds good. Are you planning to taper?

  3. Jeff
    August 22, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Looks like the planning is coming together. Are you going to paint some little running shoes on the wall too?

  4. Anonymous
    August 23, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    The room looks great! And all in one day. I have some painting you can do. Love the room.
    Mom

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

