Home > gym > Hitting the Arc

Hitting the Arc

One great thing about going to a gym is that it is hard to get bored. Yes, running on a treadmill can put forever into perspective, but it’s easy to just hop off and do something else. Tonight I had every intention of running 4 miles, but after 3 I could take no more. Even though I was going at a pretty good pace, I couldn’t take not going anywhere anymore. So I hopped off and hit the Cybex Arc Trainer for 10 minutes.

The Arc Trainer may look similar to an elliptical, but the workout is extremely different. It certainly helped break up the routine of my favorite equipment despite not getting my usual reward of miles. For example, with the other elliptical-type machine I usually use I could probably get 1.5 miles in 10 minutes; with the Arc Trainer, it was just about a half mile. But it felt so much more rewarding.

All in all, this is a pretty good workout. In fact I’ve had a good week so far with two good runs, plus some workouts on the elliptical and bike. With my mind in full training mode, I feel like my workouts are worthwhile. After four months of not having anything on my mind from a racing standpoint, it’s nice to have something to focus on.

Tomorrow is weigh-in day and I promise to have a post soon to discuss my goals a little more in depth.

  1. January 8, 2009 at 3:57 am

    Good stuff.

  2. Joy
    January 9, 2009 at 1:46 am

    I’m the same way in the gym. I just bop around from machine to machine, especially since I get so bored staying on one thing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

