Home > training > On the right track

On the right track

January 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ll be honest – a week ago when I signed up for the Shamrock Half, I was really scared with how prepared I would be for the race. But with 10 weeks to go and almost one week of “official” training under my belt, I’m feeling very good with how ready I’ll be. Today I got in 5 miles of outside running and felt great. So as long as I continue to increase my long runs over the next several weeks and get in a couple of 10-mile (or longer) runs in March, I’ll be ready. Ten weeks is plenty of time for me to prepare … but at the same time there are no weeks in which I can slack off. This could very well be the most intense 10 weeks of training I’ve ever done.

Overall this week, I’ve ran almost 13 miles with another mile or two likely tomorrow with my dog. My runs at the gym on the treadmill have been good too. I can’t just get on there and run a steady pace — somehow all my runs on the treadmill turn into some sort of speedwork. One thing I have enjoyed doing is half-mile intervals. On Wednesday I did three as part of my 3.1 mile run. After a half mile warm-up, I bumped up the speed to 7.5 mph for a quarter mile, then bumped it up to 8 mph for the next quarter mile. For the second and third one, I did 8 mph and 8.5 mph.

On today’s run, I felt refreshed. By doing other things at the gym and literally not pounding the pavement, my legs feel fantastic. And speaking of “other” things, this week I got in more than 8 miles on the various machines at the gym and 3.4 miles on the bike. All this cross-training is going a long way with helping my running and I expect to continue at this pace.

As for my weigh-in the other day, I was at 191, down 1.8 pounds for the year. My ideal goal is 180. I’ve been there and stayed there … it’s just been a while. If I keep doing what I’m doing, I’ll get there eventually.

  1. Joy
    January 10, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Great job on the run. I hear you about the mill runs ending up going faster than usual pace. I do it just to get it done already!

  2. January 11, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Good job on both the run and the weightloss.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

