Home > weather > The cold unmotivating rain

The cold unmotivating rain

January 27, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I hate it when it’s cold enough to snow but it rains. And even though it’s right at 32 degrees, this rain isn’t cold enough to make driving a nightmare. I’d rather that be the case. There’s just a little bit of ice on the trees. But it is cold and annoying enough to skip the gym tonight and sit in and do nothing but complain that it’s not snowing. Instead of getting backed up on my DVR, I’ll be watching “American Idol” or “Biggest Loser” live tonight. Will someone please fall off the treadmill already??

I did, however, get in a great workout yesterday – a half-mile walk and 1.2 mile run with my dog; 3.1 miles on the runner elliptical; and 6.2 miles on the bike. I covered those 11 miles in just a little more than an hour’s time. I was a bit surprised today that my legs are tired … it’s a different tired than I’m used to with running. Tomorrow I plan to hit the treadmill for some speedwork and maybe a little bit of something else. I want to get in a 2-mile tempo run at an 8-minute mile or better pace, but I’ve never really tried that on the treadmill.

Lastly I want to give a quick shout-out to my friend and co-worker twice over Stephanie, who is training for the Monument Avenue 10k in March. You can find her blog here. She’s looking for readers and I think that her blog is definitely worth checking out.

  1. Joy
    January 28, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    Haha! Lately my gym’s been hopping at all hours of the day. I keep throwing hairy eyeballs at the peeps on the mill waiting for SOMEONE to please get off already.

  2. rivercitygal
    January 28, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks for the shout out David! And for the comment Joy 🙂

  3. michjoy61
    January 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I will definitely check out Stephanie’s blog!! Thanks!!

    It seems like your training is going just great!!! Ok why do i feel like i am tony the tiger saying that!???

    Forgive me i am getting very antsy not running. MY mind is playing tricks on me!!!

    HELP!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

