Home > goals > A good start to ’09

A good start to ’09

January 31, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today I got in a good 6.4-mile run, with much of it coming in a group of Lynchburg College alumni who are getting ready for the Monument Avenue 10k. It was a fitting close to a month that for the most part has been very good to me. As I continue to adjust to life with a baby, there were certainly times in which I wish I could have made it to the gym, even for just a quick workout, but I’m not really complaining. A four-day trip to Ohio in the coldest part of the month also put a small dent into things.

For the month I ran 59 miles. With last year still on my mind a bit, this is great. I’m kicking myself just a bit for not hitting 60. This is better than all but four months from last year, including the just over 40-mile start in January ’08. But this month is so much different than a year ago in the fact that I also logged 15.6 biking miles and 17.3 miles on various elliptical machines. Add in 14.5 walking miles and I have 106.4 total miles for this month.

I’m a bit disappointed that I haven’t been able to shed much weight, but I can only blame myself for what goes in my mouth. Overall I haven’t been eating that bad, but this small snacking at work when people bring in food has got to stop.

As I look ahead to February, my goals are simple – do more and do it with more intensity. With running, I want my long run at the end of the month to be 10 miles. After what I did today, I’m pretty confident that a 10 miler on Feb. 28 won’t be a problem (weather permitting). On Feb. 14 I’ll be running in the Sweetheart 8k. My goal for that is to beat last year’s time of 38:26. That race will be a good test to see where I’m at with being in racing shape. I’m just not looking forward to that damn hill at the beginning.

Lastly, I just want to say: Go Cards! I’ll be an Arizona fan tomorrow, if only for a day.

  1. January 31, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I’m sure you’ll beat your time from last year. Good luck!

  2. Joy
    February 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Great job on the 6.4 🙂 Babies & road trips can certainly derail running plans.

  3. Anonymous
    February 2, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Great job. keep on running!
    Mom

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

