Home > gym > February Initiative: The Stairs

February Initiative: The Stairs

February 3, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I work on the 5th floor of  a 5-story building, but I’ve only taken the stairs once or twice. And that was because the elevator was out of service. Well today I started something I’ve been thinking about for a while — I took the stairs this morning and this evening. That’s 84 up and 84 down. Right now my goal is to do this stairs in the morning and the evening when I go home. I might add in the steps at my lunch break in a few weeks, but the important thing is that I’m making this change with the hopes of co-workers doing the same. I think of it as a bonus short quick crossing training to kick off the day.

Meanwhile, tonight at the gym the treadmill and I had words. And I lost the battle after 2.6 miles. It just wasn’t happening. It was one of those nights in which the treadmill was truly the dreadmill. I then got on the Arc for about 10 minutes and then did another 10 minutes on the bike. My hope going into the gym was to run 4 or 5 miles, but I think I thought about it too much. Tomorrow, though, is a different day.

  1. Joy
    February 4, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    That’s great work with the stairs. I work on the 2nd floor, so I don’t have as far to go, but I used to take it up to the 5th when I needed a work break & my energy was flagging. Maybe I’ll take that up again.

  2. February 4, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I will totally start taking the stairs with you! At least as soon as I finally get back to normal after this flu bug…it’s been awful.

  3. February 5, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I’m only on the 4th floor, but the elevator in my building is terrible! I take the stairs every day – usually a few times a day.

    (Of course, if I’m talking to someone on the way up, I can’t breathe by the time I reach my office. I’m hoping that will get better…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

