Home > gear > Is my Garmin dying?

Is my Garmin dying?

This morning, my Garmin didn’t turn on. When I put it on the charger, I got nothing. So since I don’t have any set routes, I decided to not worry about my long run today and just go out and run. It was both peaceful and maddening. It was nice at first just running without worrying about time or distance. But after I got to the point that I knew I had gone more than a couple of miles, I was like a baby without his pacifier.

Surprisingly, I got in a little more than 5 miles. It was a good run overall and, honestly, I didn’t feel like running 10 miles today. It kind of works out well so I’ll get in another good run tomorrow. In the end, because of the watch woes, I’ll end up having more miles for the week than I originally planned. Plus the weather is fantastic this weekend. After record lows and dressing up in three layers on Monday for my run, temperatures this weekend are in the upper 70s/low 80s – close to record highs.

So, about that watch … I was prepared to go through several options — run by time using a stopwatch and then mapping my runs with MapMyRun.com (which I did today) for a short time; look on eBay for another Garmin; buy the cheaper Garmin 50; buy a different brand GPS; and I even thought about saying the hell with using a watch for a few weeks. When I did a Google search on Garmin problems, though, I discovered the “soft reset” that can be done — similar to that of Control-Alt-Delete on a computer, a Garmin can be reset by hitting three of the buttons on it (unless it’s completely shot). Fortunately this worked. However, my Garmin isn’t making any sound and it’s been like that for a couple of months now. I’m worried that it’s on its last leg. I have no idea how old this one is. It’s the 205 that I bought on eBay about two years ago, and I don’t know who owned it before. It’s a great watch and I hope that it doesn’t completely die anytime soon. I simply can’t afford another one right now.

* * *

I thought I’d let you know that I finally updated the Photos page on this blog. It’s nothing too exciting — it’s just a few running photos from the past few years. Eventually I’ll add some older ones as I dig through some old files. I actually lost a bunch of photos on a computer recently, so I’m having to sort through MySpace, Facebook and blog files to find photos of my life. I also hope to add more with future races in addition to posting more on blog entries.

Tags:
  1. Joy
    March 8, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    So glad the soft reset worked! I had the same problem with my 305 a while ago – no beeping. Looking around the interwebs for research, I tried squeezing the frame tighter. Lo & behold – the sound came back!

  2. Ted
    March 9, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I know the feeling. You hit it right on the note and that is like being a baby without a pacifier. I can never let go of my Garmie ! Period.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

