Home > gym > Treadmill, I’m done with you (for now)

Treadmill, I’m done with you (for now)

This weekend’s conditions were horrible for running – low 40s for highs and steady rain. Normally I wouldn’t mind this too much, but the weather earlier in the week was suburb. I’m tired of this winter, especially these past two weeks that have seen record lows, record highs and nothing in between. I want spring and I want it now.

So instead of venturing outside this weekend for what I hoped to be a 10-mile run, I stuck to the gym two days in a row. I guess things weren’t completely bad – I got in 8.1 miles on the treadmill and tacked on 4 miles on the bike and 2 miles on the elliptical. Unlike a year ago at this time, I’m not worried about whether I’ve done enough for the Shamrock Half. I’ve done enough for it to be a good long run. I’ve mentioned enough in my previous posts that I’m not seeking a PR; I’m seeking a good rest of the year and this race will help set me up. If I get out there and a PR happens, I certainly won’t complain. I’ve had some good runs in the past couple of months, but I question my own mileage (even though it’s been more than a year ago, plus my cross training).

This week will consist of a few runs with my dogs and a day or two of cross training at the gym. Nothing too hard or long. I just plan to take it easy and make it to Virginia Beach without any troubles in these final days.

  1. Joy
    March 15, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Can’t underestimate the impact of the cross-training. Sounds like you have solid mileage under you for the Shamrock.

    Nice new layout, btw.

  2. March 15, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    This is actually my first “big” race with the addition of major cross training, so I’m looking forward to seeing how my legs feel after 13.1 miles.

    Still a little undecided on my layout for some reason, but I’ll keep like this for now. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

