Home > goals > Don’t be an April fool

Don’t be an April fool

I’ve got a good thing going so far this year. Now’s the time to not screw it up! Usually April tends to be a bad month for me. Sure I need some rest right now, but after a couple of more days I’m ready to get back on the road, on the bike and on the elliptical machine to keep going.

As for “what’s next,” I’m sticking to my original plan of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in September to be my next “big” race. Actually my “original” plan was to do the Charlottesville 10 Miler this coming weekend, but there’s no way I’m doing three races in a row. My legs are worn out.

I’ll probably do a handful of community races this spring and summer, and maybe head to Lynchburg for a race, but I want to stay focused on the big picture. Beyond R ‘n’ R, I would like to do a half marathon again this fall — but let me take this one race at a time approach. Things are going well, but last year lingers on my mind.

For April, I want to ease up on my running miles just a bit and focus on some cross training. Somewhere around 60 running miles is fine with me. I’ll probably take the same approach for May. Ideally, right now, I want to have a long run once a week of 6-8 miles and then build on that this summer. The best-laid plans are meant to be broken, so we’ll see what happens …

  1. Joy
    April 3, 2009 at 6:29 am

    I missed a lot of community races last year, so I’m going to try to incorporate them this time around. I dunno though – after checking out the local peeps’ times at athlinks, I’m gonna be the slowpokiest.

  2. michjoy61
    April 3, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Hi David
    I think you are taking a great approach to your running. I should do the same. I am back to running now so I need to do it right!!

  3. April 4, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Sounds like you’ve got a sensible approach going there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

