Home > cross training > Walking around the world … sorta

Walking around the world … sorta

At my job, which I never mention on here, we’re having a “Walking Across the World” initiative. Collectively we’re walking to parts of the world where we have programs until we get back to Richmond. As you’re probably aware, there is a recommendation out there for people to walk 10,000 steps a day — about 5 miles depending on your stride. Last week I bought a good pedometer and I must admit that hitting 10,000 steps, even with adding exercise miles, is quite a challenge to hit.

Without exercise, I seem to be hitting about 4,500 to 5,000 steps a day, which is actually pretty good compared to what some people are doing. Being on the 5th floor and taking the steps helps, but today when I realized I hadn’t gotten up from my desk in almost two hours, I took a lap around the top of my floor, getting in more than 200 steps. It was, surprisingly, refreshing to do.

So with this little thing through work I’m realizing how easy it is to get lazy. So get up, walk around. And buy a good pedometer in the process to help you out.

  1. michjoy61
    April 21, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Right on bro!

    I love walking around NYC. It’s pretty amazing how much walking you can get done. I never hop on a bus. I just walk. It’s nice. Perhaps its more along the lines of strolling but still….

    Just feels good!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

