Home > injuries > Good news, not-so-bad news

Good news, not-so-bad news

The good news – I don’t have to stop running. (That reminds me, maybe I should start again.) The bad news – well, there’s really not much bad news.

All in all, today’s visit to Commonwealth Sports Medicine went well. Essentially what I have to do is some strength exercises for my foot, wear a nifty plantar slipper to bed, wear some $40 insoles, attend a couple of physical therapy sessions, run on the cool-as-the-other-side-of-the-pillow G trainer (the Alter G) a couple of times and, in another month or so, get a gait analysis. And at some point I’ll get a couple of shots in that area – there a three to choose from, including one using my own blood to help heal the area.

The doctor did suggest that perhaps I cut back running just a bit and add a cross training day. Well, since I haven’t done much of anything recently this shouldn’t be too hard. She also kindly suggested some weight training to strengthen my legs and hips. Apparently from the little bit of testing today my right hip is a bit weak (which could be resulting in my right side of the body issues). This oddly reminded me of my dog’s vet appointment last year when he said the same thing about my dog.

So, for now, I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing and listen to my body when it tells me to do something else. Today was a pleasant learning experience and I’m glad I went. I probably should have done this a year ago, but it is comforting to know I’m not completely broken. I just have to do things a little different. And I’m just fine with that.

  1. michjoy61
    May 14, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Wow you really got your money’s worth today!! The using your own blood shot sounds cool.

    I giggled at cool-as-the-other-side-of-the-pillow!!! Because it is so true!!

    i am glad you got pretty good news today. RUN ON!!!!

  2. christina
    May 14, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Since we haven’t had a chance to talk much today, I thought I’d read about your foot 🙂 Glad you got it figured out — it’s better to be safe than sorry, especially when it comes to your health.

    And the slipper is cute 🙂

  3. May 15, 2009 at 5:54 am

    you get to run on an AlterG?!?!? that’s awesome! i mean, i really feel for your injury, but the AlterG?!??!

    seriously, hope things go smoothly with your recovery!

  4. May 17, 2009 at 8:56 am

    That sounds like a pretty aggressive treatment plan. Sure you don’t just have to take it easy for a couple of months?
    Actually, it’s just the shots that would worry me. Slippers, PT and Alter-G seems ok (and kind of cool!). But be careful with shots. See how you’re doing in a month or two first.
    Good luck!

  5. Joy
    May 17, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Wow! The Alter G!!!! Too stinkin’ cool!

    Where is it? I might have swing by & crash next time I head down to Petersburg.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

