Home > injuries > All about managing

All about managing

In my almost 10 years of professional working experience, much of my time has been spent in management. From managing other employees to various projects, I’ve feel I have done a good job handling things when something doesn’t go quite right. So why haven’t I applied the same philosophies to my running? Running seems to make everything else in life seems right, but when something goes wrong in running, I haven’t managed it very well. I do believe that the two go hand-in-hand.

After the past few days, however, I feel that things are changing with me and how I handle the latest injury. Instead of just coming to a halt and seeing how things felt after a week, I went to the doctor. When I got the reassurance from the doctor that it was OK to run, my mindset changed. I know, though, that I can’t just do what I’ve been doing. I have to manage it! So since I can’t fire my foot or write it up, I have to figure out what’s best to make it work for me.

For the past two nights I’ve worn the Ortho Slipper. Despite it not being all that comfortable, I don’t feel like an 80-year-old man getting out of bed in the morning. And after today’s 4-mile run — yes, 4 miles — I iced my foot. And you know what? Things don’t feel too bad. This is only the beginning of a long road ahead of me, but I have a feeling I’m on the right track …

  1. Jeff
    May 16, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I am right there with ya brotha!!!!!!!

  2. May 17, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I’m glad it seems to be working.

  3. michjoy61
    May 17, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    YES! Good going buddy!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

