Home > training > Running gets its day

Running gets its day

Today is National Running Day … on a Wednesday? Even though I’m a runner, I feel that there are too many national days, although I was surprised to see this as a trending topic on Twitter today.

So, how did I celebrate? Well, about the time I was going to go running, a string of strong storms hit Richmond. I tried to wait it out, but the storms lingered. So I headed over to the gym and ran a whole 1.5 miles on the treadmill. I grew tired of the treadmill this winter and something isn’t feeling right on there now. I can’t quite pinpoint it, but I noticed this a few weeks ago. My form is different and I feel like I’m forcing my run. It just doesn’t feel good.

After my excuse for a run, I hopped off the treadmill and got in a couple of miles on an elliptical machine. This week I have discovered that I need to get my lungs back, so I’m not overly focused on running too much. Remembering how it feels to get my heart rate up is what’s important right now. So far, I’m on the right track.

  1. June 3, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Treadmills make me feel like a hamster.

    Good job getting out there and doing something on NRD. I didn’t know about it until 11:55 PM. Slept most of the day anyway because I’m on nights and that always messes up my running schedule.

  2. Joy
    June 4, 2009 at 6:21 am

    NRD was pretty big over in facebook, which is only reason why I knew about it.

    Same thing here – my lungs need to re-learn how effort feels.

  3. Anonymous
    June 6, 2009 at 5:29 am

    i also despise the treadmill. I was chatting with a girl in Bosu the other day and she asked me how far I ran before class and what I was training for, blah blah…then she tosses in the conversation that she thinks she likes running, but she can’t get further than 9 miles on the treadmill! I gagged. I can’t IMAGINE being on the treadmill for that long! I’m like you…two or three miles and I have to get off! I hear you about form being different, my knees ALWAYS hurt the next day…

  4. June 6, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Oops! forgot my name 🙂 the “despise the treadmill” comment is from me!!

  5. June 6, 2009 at 6:04 am

    9 miles on the treadmill? That makes me sick to think about. The most I did this past winter was 5 miles, but I can generally do no more than 2-3 at a time no matter how I try to mix it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

