Home > health > Time to get back up

Time to get back up

Three days removed from my highest fever since my second post on this blog more than two years ago, I feel all beat up. It’s like somebody punched me, tied me up to the back of a car, drove a mile and then unleashed a dozen wild dogs on me. OK … it’s not that bad (it’s still bad though), but I do feel like I’ve been in a bubble all week. Things have moved in slow motion, or not at all.

When I wrote the other day, my illness was peaking. Shortly after that post, I got the worst chills of my life. Then I was hot. Then I was cold. Then I took some medicine to knock me out and I went to bed. The next morning I felt a bit better, but my fever was still more than 100. But after another morning nap, things started turning around for me. By the afternoon I finally got my temperature under 100 and ever since then things have slowly gotten better. Not great … just better.

I finally made it back to work yesterday for a partial day, although I did work from home some on Monday and Tuesday, so I never really got backed up with anything. And today I finally had a normal day … but I sort of still feel like I’m in a bubble. It’s like the rest of the world is moving around me, but I’m not quite up to speed.

So this all leads me to this worthless week of training. So far I’ve got a whole 1.5-mile walk in with my dog. And that’s all I’ll do until tomorrow evening, and even then I probably won’t do too much. It’s a lost week – there’s no doubt about that. But I have to get back up and just do whatever my body feels comfortable with over the next few days. If it only wants to run 2 miles on Saturday, then fine. If I can go 5 miles, then great. These next few days will probably be a good chance to do some cross training instead of the pounding with running.

I won’t beat myself up too much and I won’t try to play catchup. I still have a little bit of time on my side, so I’m not worried about it too much. I just feel fortunate that I’m pretty much over this illness and that it didn’t last any longer than it did.

* * *

On a side note, I saw on Facebook yesterday that the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon is announcing the concert next week. There’s already a rumor of who it is, but I’ll keep my opinion to myself right now. After last year’s horrendous B52’s mess, I’m waiting to spend money to buy a ticket for my wife to get into the show.

Tags: ,
  1. bipolarrunning
    June 18, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    I will make my mind up if the act is worth seeing/hearing.

  2. Joy
    June 19, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Dunno what this illness is making its rounds – it’s hit both my kids & now landing on me. Blllleeeeech!

  3. June 19, 2009 at 7:57 am

    hope you’re back to normal soon!

  4. michjoy61
    June 21, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Cool about the rock and roll half. DMB? That would be so cool!

    Glad your feeling better bro!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

