Home > variety > 20 miles, ice cream and beans

20 miles, ice cream and beans

While it’s not the way I count a week, I have run 20 miles in the past seven days. Twenty or more miles in a seven-day span hasn’t happened since mid-March. I’m not a big fan of a big spike in miles from week to week, so by the time Sunday rolls around it’ll all balance itself out for the past couple of weeks, but I am actually quite happy to have so many running miles in this first week of July. Tomorrow will be a much-needed cross training day as I hope to go to the gym for the first time in a month.

* * *

As promised, I’d like to give a weekly update on my nutrition efforts to make changes this month. Last week is was soft drinks and restaurant french fries; this week it’ll be ice cream. Not that I eat a lot of ice cream, but a two-month break from it will be refreshing. Just like last summer, this does not mean I’ll give up frozen yogurt especially since I enjoy making smoothies at this time of year.

As far as the first week’s changes are concerned, the soft drink thing wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I’ve given in to some sweet tea from Sheetz this week, but being completely off soft drinks for a week has made a difference in the way I feel. I never knew that even just one a day would make me feel so bad, even if they were just diet.

* * *

In another nutrition-related note, my wife and I started a garden this year and we’re starting to see results. She picked some beans today and there are a couple of cucumbers almost ready to be picked. Pretty soon we’ll have some lettuce and peppers. By late summer we hope to have some pumpkins — hopefully good enough to use at Halloween! With even some small success this year, I’m looking forward to doing something bigger next year. It’s less grass I’d have to mow.

  1. July 13, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Seems to be all systems go!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

