Home > running > The calm before the storm

The calm before the storm

It’s been a quiet week for me with running, all by plan. Monday was a travel day back from Ohio; Tuesday was a day off from work to catch up on things around the house, which included some nice cross training with an hour or so worth of yard work; I ran 4 miles yesterday; and today was a travel day with a flight to Birmingham. I’ll be in Alabama through Sunday. I’ll try to get in a run or two while I’m here, but I’m not putting pressure on myself to do so.

My run last night felt great — a couple of days of rest did me some good. After three straight weeks of good runs, I am glad to ease back this week. Next week will likely be fairly intense before a little bit of tapering the week after that. This type of training has worked well for me before, so I think I’ll peak at the right time for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half, although I still have no speed in me at all.

After more than 16 hours in the car in a four-day period and then dealing with airports today, I’m so glad I don’t have to travel that often. It would be really tough to be a traveling runner – for anyone who has to do that, I have a new respect for you. Sure I had a good run in Ohio and maybe I’ll explore Birmingham by foot, but I’m exhausted tonight.

  1. August 21, 2009 at 6:07 am

    Travelling can be such a hassle. Glad to hear you are back and ready to hit the pavement.

  2. August 22, 2009 at 3:12 am

    I have no speed either but at least we’re out running!

  3. michjoy61
    August 27, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I agree, a traveling runner is a runner who may or may not run! :O)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

