Home > pre-race > Normal, but tired

Normal, but tired

The other day I asked for a normal week … well, four days into this week and I feel like it’s lasted three weeks. I’m just tired. I’m not a good traveler like I used to be. But that hasn’t stopped me from getting in two good runs (4 miles and 3.8 miles) and a good ride on the exercise bike last night at the gym (10 miles). At the same time, though, it’s felt a bit forced. Honestly I’m just ready for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon to get here and see how it goes. One more long run this weekend and I’ll be ready.

I hope the weather of the first weekend in September doesn’t follow this pattern of being threatened by tropical storms. While I wouldn’t mind rain, I think high winds and heavy rain would not be ideal. I would do it, but I sure wouldn’t like it. Right now, the really long-range forecast is looking good. Anything will be better than last year.

(And yes, I changed my layout again. The other one just didn’t do anything for me.)

  1. Mom
    August 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I can read this better than the last one.
    Mom

  2. michjoy61
    August 27, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    David we need to do the speed workouts.

    You know, I’ve noticed you never say what your pace was for your runs. It’s ok, I am just a numbers gal but I am sure your running awesomely.

    Do you feel the need for speed?

  3. August 27, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Michelle, I don’t post my numbers for my pace because I had a good trainer a few years ago who taught me to not get caught up with the pace on every run. Generally, though, an average run for me is about 9 to 9:30 mile pace, which translates well to races for 60-90 seconds faster per mile. That’s generally a good rule of thumb. Speedwork once a week should translate into that race pace or a little faster for whatever you’re doing. My few days of speedwork this summer have resulted in quarter mile to half mile intervals at an 8-minute mile pace, give or take a few seconds. I have some older blog entries when I was in training groups where I was detailed about my speedwork that I plan to look back on to see what my workouts were that I hope to somehow copy this fall. Once I get back into it, I’ll be more specific for those runs only. In other words, I think this topic is better suited for another blog entry following the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

