Home > races > Ready to slowly rock ‘n’ roll

Ready to slowly rock ‘n’ roll

September 5, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I know that I’ve been a little critical of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon this year, but perhaps I’ve been a little unfair too. Overall, minus the last-minute deals for people who sign up late, this is a well-organized race and an organized series of races across the country.

The organization starts at the race expo, which I went to this morning — I was there for about an hour and a half, which is unusual for me. Usually I roll through quickly, get a few free items, maybe buy a new hat or socks and that’s about it. Today, though, I think I picked up just about everything free there was, entered to win registration to several other events, purchased three pairs of DryMax socks and bought a pair of shoes.

That brings up a question I’d like to pose to Asics – where were you today? Is 20,000-plus runners not enough to have a booth set up? Anyway, I walked away in a new pair of Brooks Ravenna (Washington Redskins/Virginia Tech colors included), which is a change for me. For the past two years or so I’ve been wearing either the Brooks Adrenaline line or the Asics 2100 series, but the new Adrenaline GTS 9 didn’t feel right and no Asics 2140 were around. In fact, the only Asics available were at a discount shop with not much to choose from. So with a nice 20 percent discount today, I now have something different for my feet. Whether or not I wear them tomorrow is something I’ll decide on in the morning. I’ve discovered in the past year or so that a breaking in period really isn’t necessary. And since I’m not out to set a PR, this run may be a good test to see if these are the right shoes for me or not.

Lastly, I got in a very short run this morning as the sun was coming up on one side and the moon was coming up on the other. There’s a small part of me that would love to live so close to the beach to run on the Boardwalk a few times a week. Anyone in Virginia Beach looking for communications/PR/social media help? I can make myself available.

A great site this morning after my short run.

A great site this morning after my short run.

  1. Jeff
    September 5, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    like the redskin colors.

  2. September 6, 2009 at 5:55 am

    Good luck today!!!

  3. September 7, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    Nice looking shoes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

