Home > cross training > Week 1: 118 push-ups

Week 1: 118 push-ups

September 12, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

In the past year, I’ve done exactly ZERO push-ups. In fact, it’s been five years since I’ve done push-ups on a somewhat regular basis. But that’s all changing.

Earlier this month, I wrote that I was starting Steve Speirs’ 100 push-up challenge. Well, stupid me started it on a race week. I thought that wouldn’t be an issue, but it was. So the when the full week 1 didn’t happen — I did get in two good days — I started over this week. I didn’t want to try to play catchup for a day missed. I know that this program is going to be a huge challenge and there’s nothing wrong with hitting the reset button.

So after one week of doing this, I must say I am impressed with myself. For not doing much of anything related to the upper body this year, besides a couple of workouts a month on the elliptical (none in August) and carrying my baby, I am weak. If someone asked me to help them move, I’d laugh in their face. I’d be worthless besides carrying a few boxes around. Anyway, I swear that after 118 push-ups in one week, my arms look different already. Is that even possible?

Here’s a look at week 1:
* Day 1: 6, 6, 4, 4, 12
* Day 2: 6, 8, 6, 6, 13
* Day 3: 8, 10, 7, 7, 15

Having an extra two days of “practice” helped with my max numbers. In my fake week 1, my maxes were 10 and 12. Just less than two weeks ago I struggled to do 15 push-ups during my initial test. Only a dozen were actually good. And last night I did 15 solid push-ups when I maxed and I probably couldn’t squeezed out another one.

One week of this has me pumped to see how I can push my body to do something it’s never done before …

  1. michjoy61
    September 12, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Yep, me too! My first push up test I was only able to do 8 of them. My 4 week exhaustion test I was able to do 31 push ups!! How’s that for improvement???

    It is a great program and Steve is an awesome guy!!! Keep it going David!!

  2. September 14, 2009 at 3:39 am

    Aargh…I’m going to have to start doing this challenge again, especially as Steve sent me a free copy of his book!

    It does feel rather good to see how quickly those pushups add up though eh!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

