Home > Uncategorized > Running in Lynchburg, again

Running in Lynchburg, again

I think I have very few followers who have read this blog since day one, so this may mean very little to many of you. When I started this blog back in spring 2007, it was called “Running in Lynchburg.” I started the blog as a way to document my training for the Richmond Marathon, but my early posts focused on running in Lynchburg, Va.

But then I moved at the end of that summer and changed the name of the blog — I’ve been “Running … Because I Can” ever since, first on Blogger and now on WordPress. And in the two-plus years since the name change I have run in Lynchburg exactly zero times, with the exception of running in Bedford a few times when visiting family. It’s kind of weird actually because I LOVED running in that area. I loved the community races there; I loved the training groups I was a part of. I just haven’t gone back.

That’s all about to change though, as I am about to embark on a new adventure. Without getting into too much detail, I got a new job in Lynchburg. I pretty much avoid talking about work on here for many reasons, but it’s easy to say that Richmond hasn’t exactly been the best experience. I moved here for a job that didn’t work out, was unemployed for four months and have been in a job for a little more than a year that hasn’t really fit me well. With this next shift in my career, I will be working at a college (which is what I’ve always wanted to do) and will be doing what I love (editing).

So the next couple of months are going to be crazy, but in the long run this is going to be a good move. I am pretty sure this will be the last move from city to city too. I like Richmond a lot, but something about it just has never fit me right.

As far as running is concerned, I’m looking forward to Lynchburg’s hills again and the Blackwater Creek trail system. And I’m looking forward to doing the races again that got me hooked on running a few years ago.

* * *

I wanted to give a quick update on the 100 push-ups challenge. Last week I hit a bit of a snafu as I never got in day 3 of week 4. Instead of pushing everything back a day or making excuses, I went ahead and started week 4 over today. My sets were 18, 22, 16, 16 and a max of 25 — all good-form push-ups this time. It was much better than my first attempt last week. I really think my arms needed a bit of a break to help set me up for the last portion of this.

Now that I’ll be moving, I’m really glad I did this program. Boxes and furniture, here I come!

  1. Jeff
    October 6, 2009 at 6:56 am

    Welcome home.

  2. Joy
    October 6, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Good changes from the sound of it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

