Home > Uncategorized > The wrong message?

The wrong message?

December 2, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I love watching the “Biggest Loser” on NBC, but for the second season in a row I am upset at the fact that the contestants final “challenge” is running a marathon. When they go home for the final test they’re told 60 days before they come back that they’re going to run a marathon. 60 days!!

Sure, these contestants are in superb shape after being at the “ranch” for three months or so, but many of them are not in good running shape.  They do so much to lose unbelievable amounts of weight, but they don’t run that much. At least not enough to run a marathon. They need more than 60 days to do this.

My biggest issue with the way this is handled is the way NBC makes it look like you can train for a marathon in 60 days. All of a sudden these contestants are running … a lot. It’s like they were at the ranch learning different exercises and ways to lose weight, then they get thrown into having to run and nothing else. Many of these people have suffered injuries that make doing a marathon nearly impossible.

I have the greatest respect for the contestants though — they all finished it proudly. I know how that feels. I also know what that weight-loss journey is all about. But I seriously hope that the producers of this show come up with another way to end this show. It just doesn’t work for me …

  1. michjoy61
    December 2, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    Last night was the first time I ever watched The Biggest Loser and like you I was surprised these folks were running a marathon. It just seemed a bit forced. Although I am sure they all were physically checked out before?? I know nothing about the show. But they all finished and finished strong. 60 days??? Yeah, no good!

  2. December 3, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Yeah, they’re closely watched by doctors. And I think it’s great that they did such a great job. I don’t doubt their fitness levels. I just don’t like the perception that you can get ready for a marathon that quickly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

