Home > Uncategorized > 1.11.10

1.11.10

January 11, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

These binary dates are just cool to me, and since I have nothing specific to write about, it just looks good as a title. Anyway …

* 31 in 31 has been an interesting challenge. Doing something different every day hasn’t been all that hard. In fact, it’s helped me be more conscious of what I am doing. It’s helped me focus better on each individual day. My biggest non-running activity so far was on Friday when I was able to make it to my old gym and got in 30 minutes (4.3 miles) on an elliptical machine. Otherwise, my “other” activities haven’t been too strenuous — they’ve just been a nice bonus.

To keep track of my day-to-day activities, you can click here or on the “31 in 31” tab at the top of the blog.

* Running is going very well so far. Last week I ran nearly 15 miles with a long run of 6 miles. That, coupled with the elliptical workout, was a perfect week one for training for the Shamrock Half. Six miles now sits me up very well for the best training I’ve ever done for this race.

* I’ve restarted the 100 push-ups program, again. This time instead of restarting on week 3, I just started from scratch, but at a higher level. My max push-ups last week were 22, 25 and 28. I did a total of 193 push-ups in three days. I think before I was getting too caught up in the week-to-week aspect of this and letting one day throw things off. This time around I’m not going to worry about that so much. While it’s important to keep to a schedule, it’s also important to allow for adequate rest between days and after exhaustion tests. If this goes well, I’ll complete this program before Shamrock!

* My quest for finding good blogs to read never ends, and in the past week or so I found a new one to read. Actually, I think he found me first. Either way, check out Steve over at 265 and falling and follow his weight-loss journey. Steve recently just completed his first 5k and plans to run a marathon later this year.

  1. January 12, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Thanks for the shoutout! And congrats on the running, 15 miles is pretty kickass.

    I think I’ll be joining you in the 100 push ups program soon. I want to wait until the 500mile and 100mile challenges are done though, so I think I’ll be starting in Feb.

    Have a good one!

  2. January 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

    I’ve quietly restarted the 100 pushups challenge. I got stuck at week 4 again in December so decided to restart and build more base.

    Up to w2d2 at the moment. I’m doing th 100 squats challenge at the same time and it’s going well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

