Home > Uncategorized > Setting the bar high

Setting the bar high

January 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Despite this feeling of starting over, the truth is I ran enough in December that I don’t have to begin from scratch. I don’t have to have a long run of only 4 miles to kick off my training for the Shamrock Half. And last week, I set the bar high for me for early in the training process — my long run was 6 miles.

So tonight I did what I would normally do for my long run early in training — I added a mile. So with about 9 weeks to go to that race, I’m at 7 miles for my long run. I’m on pace to hit double digits in early February, rather than the end of the month. It feels great to be at this point. The quicker I can build myself up to 10 miles, the more I can focus on the quality and speed of my runs. And that’s something I haven’t been able to do in a long time.

I’m not going to get caught up in my goal of a PR just yet, but I feel like I’m well on my way to getting to where I want to be.

  1. January 13, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    It sounds like you are WELL on your way, which is awesome. I think its good to always set the bar for yourself too, so you can see what you are really capable of.

    How long did it take you to complete that 7 mile long run?

  2. January 14, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Last night was a casual conversation-pace run with a friend. We finished in 1:04, which was great considering how hilly our course was and that it felt “easy.” I’m right on target to do what I want for a race, I just have to actually do some speedwork soon.

  3. January 15, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Your natural pace is faster than mine for sure.

  4. January 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    I run faster when I’m with someone else, but that’s a good thing. Usually when I’m by myself I look down at my watch and say to myself, “I’m going THAT slow?!?!”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

