Home > Uncategorized > What feels stupid is right

What feels stupid is right

January 20, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I rarely run on the rain. In fact, I have often rearranged weekly runs to avoid running in the rain. If it rains on Saturday, I run on Sunday. If rains on a Wednesday, I certainly wait until Thursday. But not tonight … not my new Wednesday routine of long runs. And it’s only about 40 degrees. And I wore shorts.

As I sit here in a warm living room in dry clothes I’m thinking about what I just did. I was running with a friend, so that certainly helped, but at times it felt kind of stupid to be out there. With each puddle I stepped in, I kept thinking about how I was glad I didn’t have new shoes yet. Every time we came to a hill I thought about how comfortable being in the bed would feel. But at the end of each hill, I felt twice as strong as I did a few minutes before.

Runs like this are character building runs. It wasn’t all that fast, but it wasn’t slow either. Somehow, though, this run has made me a better person and a better runner. I just feel it, less than an hour after finishing. And, by the way, tonight’s run was 8 miles.

***

And, as a side note, I did 85 total push-ups tonight. Week 3, day 1, level 3 is in the books. I did a disappointing 35 push-ups on Monday with my exhaustion test. I say “disappointing,” but it’s still good enough to stay in level 3. I was just hoping for more, but I didn’t give myself enough rest to do more. So I’ll take it.

  1. January 21, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Yeah, that really does kinda kick ass.

    What’s really great about that is not only did you run in the rain, but you rain EIGHT FRICKIN’ miles in the rain. You could have just said f*** it after the first mile, especially with battling thoughts of dry clothes and the warm living room, but you kept going. Thats awesome.

  2. January 21, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I love running in the rain as it makes me feel hardcore!

  3. January 24, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I don’t mind running in the rain if it’s above 50°F and if it starts raining after I start running. It’s really hard to go out the door if it’s already raining. The worst thing about rain-running is soggy shoes — I don’t care for the squish-squish, it creates hot spots on my feet, and it’s hard to get my shoes dry (and not extra smelly).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

