Home > Uncategorized > Noticing the little things

Noticing the little things

February 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Growing up in a small town, it’s easy to know every little detail about places and things. There’s a story to be told about every building and place. But growing up in the small town of Bedford, Va., I never ran on the streets. I rode my bike occasionally, but I rarely spent much time up close to certain areas.

If you’re familiar with Bedford, anyone can tell you about Vista Foods, which still is around; the Kroger that is now home to the Bedford Bulletin; Citty Ford, which is now Franks Pizza and yes Citty is spelled correctly; Rubatex, where my grandmother and many others from that generation worked, but it now looks like a ghost town; and the McDonald’s that closed in the 1980s. Then there are the churches.

I thought I knew about all the churches within Bedford’s “city” limits. That is, until last night’s 10-miler (the fourth 10-miler in four weeks). My friend and I (and Duke) were running up Court Street — a fairly big hill that is pretty much just that. A street that’s a big hill next to the big Courthouse downtown near the museum. But going up the hill I noticed Court Street United Methodist Church. It was just a small gray building with little fanfare, only a tenth of a mile (if that) from the church I grew up in — Main Street United Methodist Church.

I told my friend, “I grew up here and I’ve spent a lot of my 31 years traveling these roads, but I never knew there was a church right there.”

It’s funny how we rely on the Internet for quick information, but trying to find information about this church isn’t easily found on Google. Click here to see what I found after several different searches trying to find the church. It’s obviously not on Court Street anymore. It’s just a small church doing its own thing, like many small churches in this area. They don’t appear to have a website, nor do they probably need one. I bet the church isn’t on Facebook either.

The point with this is that with running it’s so awesome to find little things that you didn’t know about before. From businesses to little side streets to houses you didn’t know existed to historical markers to churches, every community is full of things we don’t know are out there. If you think you really  know about your community, think again. Next time you’re on a run (or a walk or a bike ride or in the passenger seat), look around you. Is there something there you didn’t know existed?

  1. February 19, 2010 at 11:38 am

    That is one of the nicest things about running for me. I’ve really gotten to know my city in a way that is just not possible in a car.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

