Home > Uncategorized > The numbers game

The numbers game

Somewhere last year I stopped caring about how many miles I ran. They become unimportant. While I wanted to focus on quality, I got away from realizing how important quantity is. And yes, quantity is important. It’s important for my motivation; it’s important to build a base for marathon training later this year; it’s important because I like running again.

Every runner is different, but I think a lot of people will agree with me that mileage really is just more than a number. With tonight’s 4.1-mile run, I am already at 1/3 of the miles I ran for all of last year. How could 201.3 miles 67 days into the year not give me a crazy confidence boost? That’s a pace of more than 1,000 miles for year … perhaps a goal I’ll soon make official. 😉

Beyond the miles is the fact that many of my runs have been great this year. My pace is better and more consistent; I intentionally run bigger hills again; and, as I’ve already said, I like running again. I like it.

  1. michjoy61
    March 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    David, I am so happy to hear you say you like running again. Perhaps, one day you will say you love it?

    Also, 1000 miles for the year is easily yours. Make it official!!!

  2. March 8, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Ah, love is such a strong word. It’s been a love-hate thing for a couple of years, so we’re taking small steps right now 🙂

  3. March 9, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    You are doing awesome, and you are going to blow past 1000 miles before the year is up. I’m very very close to being able to say I’ve actually run 100 miles (dailymile says I’m at 92.07) this year. I don’t think I’ve even run 10 miles in a year before.

  4. March 13, 2010 at 10:18 am

    The important thing is not to play catchup. If I stay above the 1,000-mile mark pace into marathon training, I’ll be fine. Another thing is to not get obsessed about it. I’m not going to risk long-term injuries to do it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

