Home > Uncategorized > Going for 1,000 miles

Going for 1,000 miles

Over on Daily Mile today there is a lot of talk about goals for this spring and summer. This is one reason I love doing the Shamrock in March — I’ve gotten a big race out of the way. Just less than three months into this year, I’m near 250 miles already. Usually, though, I slack off and have a pretty rotten April, which leads to a poor showing in May, which leads to “starting over” with training in June. The problem in the past couple of years is that I haven’t had any bigger goals to focus on. I’ve either been injured or worried about being injured, so I don’t do anything in the nicest months to run.

But now that I’m healthy and I’m all jazzed up about running again, it’s time that I have some more hardcore goals. Injuries be damned.

As I’ve hinted at before, I am now officially making it a goal to run 1,000 miles for the calendar year. I really wanted to set this goal at the end of 2009, but I needed to see how training for the Shamrock Half would go. I needed to make sure that a few days after that race that I wasn’t hurt and that I could keep running. Well, I can keep going. While I have some soreness, I’ve run twice in three days since the race, something I would have never considered doing in the past. While I’ll likely tone it down a bit, it’s time for me to focus on the scope of the year and getting to quadruple digits for the first time ever.

  1. March 24, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Yeah, buddy! No doubt you’ll be able to pull this off too.

  2. March 25, 2010 at 1:52 am

    1000 miles is in the bag for you!

  3. Thermy
    March 25, 2010 at 3:53 am

    1000 miles sounds great! I’m sure you’ll pull it off!

  4. March 26, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Go for it! I was only able to pull it off once (so far) and I barely made it.

    Thanks for keeping on eye on my blog. It helps to know that people are out there wondering where I’ve gone, and realizing when I come back. (Well, I know there’s a subscription feature. But I appreciate the comments.)

  5. March 26, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    I keep up with all the blogs I read through Google Reader and don’t keep my Blogroll on the site very up to date. That will go away soon with some other changes I’m making.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment